

TOWN OF SPRINGERVILLE PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

TUESDAY, APRIL 11, 2023, at 6:00 PM TOWN OF SPRINGERVILLE COUNCIL CHAMBERS 418 E. MAIN STREET SPRINGERVILLE, AZ 85938

Pursuant to A.R.S. Section 38-431.02, notice is hereby given to the members of the Springerville Planning and Zoning Commission and to the general public, that the Commission will hold a meeting open to the public at the at the Springerville Town Hall Council Chambers, 418 E. Main St., Springerville, Arizona. The Planning and Zoning Commission reserves the right to adjourn into Executive Session in accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes Section 38-431.03 (A)(1)(3)(4) and (7) for legal consultation on any of the following agenda items.

- 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER: Chairwoman Shove called meeting to order at 6:01 pm.
- **2.** <u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:</u> Town Manager/Interim Community Development Director Tim Rasmussen led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- **3.** <u>ROLL CALL</u>: Members of the Planning and Zoning Commission or Legal Counsel that are unable to be present in person at a scheduled Commission meeting, may participate in the meeting by telephone or video conference.

<u>Present</u>: Chairwoman Terry Shove; Vice-Chairwoman Teresa Becker; Commissioner Trinity Raymer; Commissioner Brian Hayes; Commissioner Dan Torres

<u>Staff Present:</u> Town Manager/Interim Community Development Director Tim Rasmussen; Assistant Stormy Palmer

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: This portion of the agenda is set aside for the public to address the Commission regarding items, whether they are listed on the agenda for discussion or not. However, the Commission cannot engage in discussion regarding any item that is not officially listed on the agenda for discussion and/or action. (A.R.S. §38-431.02(H).)

No public participation.

5. CONSENT ITEMS:

A. Consider approval of the December 13, 2022, Planning and Zoning Commission meeting minutes.

Motioned by: Vice Chairwoman Becker; seconded by: Commissioner Raymer to approve consent item A. as presented.

AYE: Chairwoman Shove, Vice Chairwoman Becker, Commissioner Raymer, Commissioner Torres, and Commissioner Hayes

5-0 Passed - Unanimously

- 6. ZONING ADMINISTRATORS REPORT: Mr. Rasmussen introduced himself and explained that he had come back to employment with the Town as the Interim Community Development Director and has recently accepted employment as the Town Manager. He also explained that Ms. Palmer was previously employed with the Town and has come back as well as a contract admin assistant for Planning and Zoning. He gave the Commission a briefing on building permits that have been issued and that are upcoming, as well as updated them on building inspections completed and upcoming. Mr. Rasmussen stated that going forward the Commission would be tasked with clean-up and clarification of the Town Code.
- 7. <u>LIAISON REPORT</u>: Chairwoman Shove gave a brief synopsis of Council meetings from the last few months, including Mayor Reidhead being elected, the merging of the fire and police departments with the Town of Eagar's, as well as the sale of the old fire department building on S. Papago Stret.

OLD BUSINESS

8. NONE

NEW BUSINESS

9. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING ELECTION OF PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION OFFICERS

The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for the Commission are elected yearly, typically the Vice Chairperson moves up to Chair and a new Vice Chairperson is elected. Chairwoman Shove began the discussion and explained the process for newer Commissioners. Vice Chairwoman Becker voiced concerns about moving up to Chair with so many newer members being on the Commission. Through further discussion it was mentioned that the current officers were elected in November 2022. It was also noted that elections are supposed to be, or typically held in January of each calendar year. Due to the circumstances, it was discussed to motion that elections be put off until January.

Motioned by: Vice Chairwoman Becker; seconded by: Commissioner Raymer to postpone elections until January 2024.

| AYE: Chairwoman Shove, Vice Chairwoman Becker | , Commissioner Raymer, | Commissioner |
|---|------------------------|--------------|
| Torres, and Commissioner Hayes | | |

5-0 Passed – Unanimously

| 10. ADJOURNMENT: Chairwoman Shove adjourned the meeting at 6:34 pm. | | |
|---|--|--|
| | | |
| | | |
| Terry Shove Chairperson | | |
| ATTEST: | | |
| | | |
| Planning & Zoning Administrator | | |
| hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the Zoning Commission in a regular meeting held on April duly called, and a quorum was present. | | |
| Dated this day of, 20 | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| Dianning & Zoning Administrator | | |